A Community by the River

Mayor and Council

Form of Government:

Brielle operates under a municipal form of government composed of six council members and a mayor, all elected directly by the voters. Council members are elected to three year terms. Each year two seats are up for election. The mayor is elected to a four-year term. The mayor votes only to break a tie. Thus the term, "Strong council, weak mayor", applies to this form of government. The mayor makes official appointments with advice and consent of the council. The council reorganizes itself each year, electing a president and assigning committee responsibilities.

Council Meetings:

Borough council meetings are held at 7:30 pm on the Second and Fourth Mondays in the council chambers of Borough Hall, 601 Union Lane, Brielle. A work session precedes the regular meeting. When a regular scheduled meeting falls on an official holiday, the meeting is held the following evening.

Council Make-up:

Mayor: Thomas B. Nicol 528-5942

Council Members:

Council Committees:

Administrative & Personnel:

  • Cort Gorham, Chair
  • John Visceglia
  • Paul K. Nolan

Budget & Finance:

  • John V. Visceglia, Chair
  • Frank A. Garruzzo
  • Cort Gorham

Community Development:

  • Michael Gianforte, Chair
  • Frank Garruzzo
  • Paul Nolan

Public Safety:

  • Frank A. Garruzzo, Chair
  • Michael Gianforte
  • Timothy A. Shaak

Public Works:

  • Timothy A Shaak, Chair
  • Cort Gorham
  • John V. Visceglia

Public Resources:

  • Paul K. Nolan, Chair
  • Michael Gianforte
  • Timothy Shaak